Don’t Break the Chain: Week 3

A tad late on updating but 3rd week and going strong:

Day 15: Skirt/Pencil – Some more practice sketches on elements I’m trying to better myself at, I’ve come to realise I’m not a massive fan of patterns or repetition within one section, probably have to work on that too.
This time I’m delving into drawing skirts especially pleated; creases in clothing always did baffle me, I understand all this talk about stress points but it’s still rather hit and miss.

Day 16: 100+ Thanks/Ink – Since I began this Don’t Break the Chain routine, I’ve been able to update my Facebook page everyday with one new drawing, I guess the audience count has started to pick up on it and I’ve managed to get 100+ likers. Doing the typical milestone thing where I post something in relation to the 100 milestone, I decided on being straight forward and inked a piece where a girl is taking an appreciation on some graffiti (not that I’ve done any myself).

Day 17: #100 Ishita Black/Pencil – due to the 100+ liker milestone I set myself a task of sketching out a portrait from Liker 100 to 125 and a personal short message as a thanks for taking an interest. I don’t expect any replies back but hey, thanks.
This portrait plays with light pencil shading.

Day 18: #101 Nick Alvarez/Pencil – Notice how I’m far better at drawing males than females.
This piece plays with varied tone shading with smudge blending.

Day 19: #102 Lyndsey Lowe/Pencil – At this point I noticed a problem, some people don’t show profile photos of themselves and some are vastly different from each other. I decided to go with my gut feeling and carry on.
This piece plays with hard cross-hatch shading with little to no transition between elements

Day 20: Napoleon Munchkin Cat/Ink – I felt 3 portraits week is pretty substantial so I can keep the work varied. I actually enjoy drawing fur which makes drawing animals quite fun, this here is probably my favourite breed of cat. It’s still ironic that as much as I like animals I’m quite allergic to them; so as much as I want to pet something, I don’t so that I can avoid a hospital trip.

Day 21:Arama/Pencil – I was starting feel like I was neglecting some of my existing narrative work so I took it upon myself to refresh and re-up some of these characters. One thing I’ve wanted to do is a complete character height scale illustration, perhaps I’ll do such a thing in the nearer future.
This is the main character of my sci-fi narrative Dystopia (working title), I still think there’s a little something off about the facial features but I’ll leave as it is for now and come back to it, probably have to make the clothing not so bland too.

Leave a Reply

